Tis The Season

To venture out once more that is.  Now that Fall has finally arrived in the south, I can finally continue working on the progress I had made at the end of Spring earlier this year.  This past Winter and Spring was full of several fun events to get me out of the house and enjoy the company of great friends and continue working on my goals.  But once Summer hit, it was time to pack away the wigs, heels, and take it easy for a while.  Needlessly to say this Summer was longer and hotter than usual and I’m happy to see the changing of the seasons upon us, and as with many women out there, this season is my favorite.  Yay Fall!

Since last Spring I had made a good friend, Shari, on Facebook who happened to live 30 min away from me and we simply couldn’t pass up the opportunity to meet face-to-face and get to know each other.  It definitely feels like the trans/genderfluid community in Memphis is smaller than what it looks like in other larger cities, but it’s a community I hope continues to grows over time.   Last weekend my wife and I had a chance to meet up with Shari over drinks and dinner in the hip Cooper-Young neighborhood of Memphis and spend some quality time together.  We started off by enjoying a couple of rounds of beer at my favorite pub, which I frequent quite often but this was the first time as Katie, and then we enjoyed some great food at a restaurant next door.

This particular meet up was a bit different than my other times out because it was a casual evening with my wife and a friend, and not a big event at night, like I’ve posted in the past.  This meant I needed to tone down my makeup look and try to wear something a bit more casual and appropriate for the occasion.  I tend to do a lot of bold makeup looks, which are more appropriate for a special event or a night out, not so much for something laid back during the afternoon.  So I kept the false lashes at home, toned down the eye makeup, and went with a subtler lip shade.  As for the outfit, I had found this Fall look on Pinterest and was obsessed with it, so I knew I had to wear this out before it got too cold to have bare legs, and with flats it was appropriate for the occasion.

It was a great evening with Shari, catching up, sharing stories, thoughts, and making some fun plans. Towards the end of the night we made plans for our next outing and the possibility of another local trans woman venturing out with us.  The idea is to try and meet up once a month, or whenever our schedules work out.  Being more visible out in public and doing normal everyday things is the kind of activism I can get behind with; one encounter, one interaction, one conversation, and one drink at a time, and all in the company of great family and friends.

Much love to all,

Katie

About katieinthehall

I'm a rediscovered crossdresser in my early 30's looking to express my thoughts as I move through this journey of discovery.

Posted on October 14, 2016, in Dress up day, Family/Friends, Fashion, Makeup, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 8 Comments.

  1. Sounds like you had a great tie and you all looked great. I agree the bar scene can be fun but the more we interact with people on a daily basis doing everyday things, shopping, lunch or even just a coffee shop like Starbucks I think it really gives a sense of normalcy to who we are and what we do. I think that will help bridge the differences between people and that is a good thing.

  2. Loving the more casual look! You’re such a strikingly beautiful lady 💖

  3. You must have turned a lot of heads in that outfit!
    Beautiful

Leave a Reply

