Keep on Rouxlin’

IMG_6156There’s nothing quite like a nice Sunday with friends and a pot of gumbo.  Ok, make that a couple of hundred friends and over a dozen pots of delicious gumbo, some tasty King cakes, and a fun Mardi Gras atmosphere!

Last year my wife and I went for the first time to the Tennessee Equality Project’s annual gumbo cooking competition.  This fundraiser helps out TEP in their efforts in supporting LGBT issues in the state.  Anyone can help the cause by buying a ticket, sampling dozens of yummy gumbos, and voting for their favorite.  When I went last year I was kicking myself, thinking that this would have been a great opportunity to take Katie out on the town and show support for our good friend, Nathan, who was competing in the event.  I made a commitment that this year would be different, and my goodness was it ever!

As this event was a contest/Mardi Gras party, I of course had to break out my good ol’ glue gun and put together some fun and colorful accessories for the event.  I knew I wanted to dress up my new hair, so I threw together a nice headpiece, which ended up getting a lot of positive attention.  Oh, since my last post I took advantage of some great online deals and got myself a wonderful new wig called Heidi by Jon Renau, and I absolutely love her! 🙂

This year, my wife and I were more than happy to help Nathan out in setting up for the event, transporting some chairs, tables, gumbos, rice, drinks, and many, many King cakes! I made sure to plan accordingly in advance, so I had some nice comfortable flats to help haul everything from the car, and some nice booties for when the paying public started to arrive.

As a general trend, especially with my trip up to the Twin Cities last November, I was much less stressed out or anxious than ever before.  The more and more one does this, the easier and less stressful it becomes.  I was happy to meet some of the others enlisted by Nathan to help out, and also happy and relaxed to walk around the event floor, meeting so many new people.  My good friend Gabby, who knows a ton of people around town introduced me to anyone she knew, and I was more than happy to strike up a conversation.

One of the big things I realize now after a couple of days thinking about the evening was how I kept wanting to walk around the room and interact with people.  Nathan’s team, called “Rouxlin’ On The River” had a table set up with chairs, and I could have sat there most of the night, near the table with people I knew, but I instead wanted to keep circling the room to see what would happen.  I was stopped a few times by random people for photos, many gave me warm compliments, and others a wonderful smile.  In other words, I didn’t think I’d want to put myself out there like that, and as an introvert I usually wouldn’t do that, but damn that was fun!  Human interaction…who knew it could be so much fun! LOL 🙂

12541060_747598265494_792185469980362860_n.jpg

Go Team!!!

By the end of the night, I had made some great new friends, met a bunch of new people, and we were all happy and proud for Nathan for receiving third place for his turducken gumbo, which was to die for!  What an amazing cook!  Congratulations to him for a job well done!!

Much love to all,

Katie Amor

About katieinthehall

I'm a rediscovered crossdresser in my early 30's looking to express my thoughts as I move through this journey of discovery.

Posted on January 26, 2016, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 14 Comments.

  1. That looked so fun. And that gumbo looks so delicious.

  2. Wow! You look awesome as always 😄 That sounded like a great day. I’ve only ever heard of gumbo in films so I’ve never tried it. Don’t hear of it much in the UK sadly X

    • Thank you so much, Anna! If you ever have a chance to try Cajun food, the style popular in the New Orleans area, I highly recommend it. I love going to that area and getting my fill of delicious and unique food. 😊

      • I have dabbled a little I must confess but I definitely need to get my ‘feelers’ out for some of that good stuff. I do hope you have a pleasant evening when it comes! x

  3. Katie,

    I have just recently started reading your blog. You are an inspiration. I, too, and living somewhere “in the middle”.

    I do have a question. In many of your beautiful, feminine, looks you are wearing either big hoops or long dangly silver earrings. Are your ears pierced? If so, do you wear earrings in your other life.

    The reason I ask is that I’m want to get pierced but I worry about wearing earrings in my professional life. Any experience or input drone an experienced girl like you will help.

    Thanks,
    Michelle 💋

    • Hi Michelle!
      Thank you so much for the kind compliment. 🙂 As for my ears, I don’t have any piercings at the moment. I use standard earrings, but I add these little clip attachments so that I can clip them to my ears. I just have to be careful not to wear them all day long, as the clips are sometimes a little painful if I wear them for several hours.
      I haven’t thought too much about getting my ears pierced. I don’t think that I would be the kind of guy who would wear male earrings. So for the moment clip-ons are the way to go for me. 🙂
      Katie

      • Katie,
        Thanks for sharing your experience. I feel your pain with the clip on earrings.
        I don’t have any interest in wearing make earrings either, but I love long, feminine earrings as a girl. Weird, huh?
        I sometimes feel like pierced ears are like an induction into an all girl club. It would be like a commitment to my female side. So, I guess it is not just about earrings for me.
        Are there other “feminine” things that you do that you have to hide in boy mode? Shaved legs, shaped eyebrows, pedicure, your make up is amazing, but I guess that washes off. If so, how do you hide them?
        Love the blog. Keep doing your thing.

        Thanks
        Michelle

      • Michelle,
        Thank you for the compliment! 🙂 As for everyday things, I do keep my eyebrows shaped, nothing too obvious. No one has ever asked about my brows so it’s not a big deal. I do love having my toes painted most of the time and that’s easy enough to hide, especially since I’m not much of a sandal wearing kind of guy. During the cooler months, when I usually go out in public, I do shave my legs from time to time, which are easy to hide with jeans.
        Katie

  4. Glad to hear we also share a love of the gumbo! Ha Ha. It was cold and rainy on President’s Day, so we did up a batch. The toughest part is the roux and cutting everything up, but I just love it.

  5. So pleased to discover so many good, interesting and funny stories on here by trans and cross dressing people. Katie, you truly look amazing and I love the look of the gumbo, is the roux cooked or was that before it went in the oven? It looks appetizing in a raw cake dough kind of way so I hope it’s uncooked.

  6. It’s been a while since I’ve been around. I’m so happy to see you’re doing well. 🙂

Leave a Reply

