Swinging Hammers and Drilling Holes

As a new homeowner, the last six months of living here has really brought out a new side to me, working on some projects around the house. I had the thought of writing this post after reading a post from my friend Ashley, where she describes how she felt when she had to do some handy work around her house. She describes a feeling of being a strong independent woman, not needing a man around to do some manly work around the house.

Her experience got me thinking “how do I feel when I do project around the house”? Since moving to the house, I tackled some woodworking projects, making a workbench, a TV stand, a turntable stand, and a cornhole set. While doing these projects, I felt like I was exercising my masculine side, working with my hands to create something out of basic starting materials. Growing up, I spent a lot of time at my grandfather’s house, where he had a full workshop, where he would build machines for his pasta factory, and allowed my brother and I to use some of his tools to make some toys. I know that that had a big impact on me growing up.

Now that I have my own set of tools, I can use my creativity to build the things I want and to work on projects to make our house complete. So when I’m working on these projects, I feel like my male self, channeling my grandfather, who was a big part of my upbringing and influenced my masculine identity. I find it so interesting how people have different perspectives when doing simple tasks, whether it be hanging a coat hook or building some furniture.

Much love,

Katie Amor

About katieinthehall

I'm a rediscovered crossdresser in my early 30's looking to express my thoughts as I move through this journey of discovery.

Posted on May 17, 2015, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 8 Comments.

  1. Pamela Redmond Satran once said “What every woman should have is a set of screwdrivers, a cordless drill and a black lace bra.”

  2. Dear Katie,

    First of all, Thank you so much for being a true representative of our community. My wife is growing to accept the lady that I am, along with the man she married. I am not completely out, but have been out in skirts/tights and guy tops. I hope to be fully out soon in the near(er) future and be as good a transgender representative as you and Hannah.

    This is SO ironic! I am transgender also and I built pretty much the SAME workbench, stained it the SAME color in January. Then I built cornhole boards for my daughter and future son-in-law. Ha Ha

    Best wishes,

    Kathi

    P.S. You looked SO pretty in your pink dress with the black tights!

    • Hi Kathi!
      Thank you so much for those kind words. I’ve really grown to love fashion and have enjoyed the styles that I’ve found works best for me. As for those black tights, I love the look, but they also help cover up those hairy legs of mine!

      I feel much like Hannah that whenever we do go out in to the real world we have a chance to connect with people and help the general public understand a little more about who we are. We have such a wonderful chance to be ambassadors for our community.

      I’m happy to hear that you have an accepting wife and I wish you all the best as you become the lady that you are! 🙂

      That is an amazing coincidence that we built almost the exact same things! I got some of the plans from Pinterest, such a useful tool.

      Best wishes,
      Katie

      • Hi Katie,

        Thanks for responding…it’s always nice being able to correspond with like-minded ladies. I am not sure how my “journey” will end, but at some point I would also like to be a part of the growing TG ambassadors

        Below is the link I used for my workbench…I was a little late in discovering Pinterest, but I am IN full-bore now. Ha Ha

        http://www.oneprojectcloser.com/how-to-build-heavy-duty-workbench/

        One note on the cornhole board…I didn’t “measure twice, cut once” and one of the beanbag holes is 6″ lower than the other…oops! I told my daughter and SIL, but no one has noticed on their own.

        I am in the same boat as you regarding the hairy legs. I try to stick with the higher quality high-denier tights and they work great for me. It can be overwhelming seeing all of the clothes I would like to wear and having to make choices. I may have to write down/take pictures of what I have and keep it in my phone.

        Warmest regards,

        Kathi

      • Hi Kathi,
        That’s exactly what I do for outfits! I have a whole picture album on my computer of outfits I’ve put together and all the different combinations of pieces that work best for my style, along with what shoe goes with said outfit. It’s a great resource to have and look back on. Looking back at some of my early outfits, I had a lot to learn, and a lot of overwhelming feelings to process. Anytime I go out shopping, I try to have a general idea of what I’m looking for, it not, I get so lost….

        I love that work bench, so many pictures to go with the instructions, and so much room to store all the tools. I love to keep things organized, and something like that is great to have around. The workbench I built was the first thing I put together when we bought the house, and I also had some issues with that. It’s not easy keeping everything square and prevent a table from wobbling so much.

        I’ll be happy to hear where your future leads you as you develop to the individual you want to be. Feel free to keep in touch, my email is at katieinthehall@gmail.com

        Much love,
        Katie

  3. Nice site, I like to dress also:
    Black opaque tights

Leave a Reply

