The Weekend Chores

I’m happy that I have a couple of nice wigs in my closet, one old Jon Renau Zara wig, which I wear around the apartment, and my new Zara wig, which is brand new and shinny for when I go out, but of course, with double the wigs comes double the work in maintaining them.  When I first started buying wigs, I had no clue how to take care of them, and my old Zara wig shows the wear and tare from the initial neglect.  I bought some cheap synthetic wig shampoo and conditioner from a big company and after washing the wig in cold water, taking my time to untangle all the fibers, and applying the conditioner, I wasn’t completely happy with the end result.  It wasn’t like new.

When I bought my new Zara wig late last year, I bought some new shampoo and conditioner from the company that makes the wig (Jon Renau), and boy does it make a difference.  It does take quite some time to go through the wig, piece by piece to untangle the fibers, but the end result is silky and smooth, especially after applying the conditioner.  It’s so nice to be able to run your fingers through the hair and not have them get caught up.  With regular washing and proper care, I’m sure I’ll be keeping my hair in good shape for quite some time, and save some $$$.

I hope you all had a great weekend,

Katie

About katieinthehall

I'm a rediscovered crossdresser in my early 30's looking to express my thoughts as I move through this journey of discovery.

Posted on April 27, 2014, in crossdressing, Dress up day and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 10 Comments.

  1. Looking good, Katie! Have fun with the new hair.

  2. It’s such beautiful hair and you look amazing.

    Love, Hannah

  3. Wow, well hopefully with that kind of care your new wig will stay looking great for a long time. I am curious, just about how many uses of your wig do you suppose you get out of it? I know you said you had your previous one for about two years. How many times do you think you wore it during those two years? I am pondering this for my own wigs. As you know, they can be a bit pricey, but when looking at things like the overall cost per use can put things in perspective. I have been thinking about things like that, for example my new purse was a bit pricey, but I use it every time I go out. Thus the more uses I get out of it, the less expensive it actually is. So I have been wondering that about my wigs as well.

    Great post btw, very useful, and some tips I will adopt.

    Thanks cutie Katie!

    • Thank you Nadine. I’m glad to hear that the post was useful. I get to dress up a few times a month and wash the wig every two months or so. That’s usually when I start to feel that the strands are getting too tangled and the hair is not as smooth as I’d like it to be, so I guess every 5-7 uses. I sometimes wash it after a night out if the wig has picked up some bad smells, especially when we go to places where people are smoking.

      From what I read, it looks like you get to use your wig a lot more often, so 1-2 years of use might be just about right for this style of wig. I’d think you’re getting great use from it, and with some proper care really get the most out of it for the money.

      Have a great weekend,
      Katie

Leave a Reply

