From Two to Three

That’s right folks, I’m starting my third year writing on this blog, and the fourth year since rediscovering who I am, in an effort to be a more complete individual.  This past year has been meet with achievements and setbacks, goals achieved, goals missed, and accomplishments of things I never thought possible.

Looking back to what I wrote last January, my goals for this past year were very vague.  I wasn’t quite sure at the time of specific things I wanted to do for the year, I just let the time go by and tried to live in the moment.  Some of the goals I wanted to achieve didn’t quite get checked off.  I didn’t go out much and I didn’t get myself involved in the local community as much as I wanted.

DSC_0036On the other side, there have been many positive achievements I’ve been able to accomplish over the past year.  I’ve continued the trend of coming out to close friends, which has lead to some very interesting and deep conversations about society, trans, and gender issues, all of which have been very rewarding.  I continue to work on defining my style and of course taking advantage of sales whenever possible.  I’m happy that I FINALY bought my first little black dress, something I ‘ve hesitated over because of worry on how a dress would work with my figure.  The end result…I couldn’t be happier.

Making more connections online, through Facebook and Instagram, has opened my world up to so many new and wonderful friends, while at the same time dealing with the dark side to some in the social media landscape, which at times cause a bit of anxiety.

Of course the most significant achievement of last year would be coming out to my mom, a goal that wasn’t on my radar at the beginning of the year, but started to develop after a visit from my parents in the summer.  That visit lead to the idea that it was time to at least tell my mom about how happy this aspect of my life has made me, and how I have become a more perfect individual by acknowledging the feminine side to my identity.

I am happy that over the last two years I’ve been able to share my thoughts and feelings as I deal with the equilibrium between my masculine and feminine sides.  I’m happy that many visitors have found these stories and thoughts useful; as I am sometimes hesitant to give outright advise.  I see advise as a hard topic to grasp, especially when everyone’s situation is so different from mine.  I find that stories and thoughts are more useful, and the more stories you can read from a diverse group of individuals, the more one can gain a perspective on the past, present, and future.

So, what’s in the future?  Nothing specific, only general goals similar to last year.  I would like to go out more and make some connections in the local community.  I’ve also been thinking that there are so many great friends I’ve made in the past two years I would love to meet.  So I would love to take any advantage to meet these great individuals in person.

I wish you all a great weekend and a happy 2014.

Much love,

Katie

About katieinthehall

I'm a rediscovered crossdresser in my early 30's looking to express my thoughts as I move through this journey of discovery.

Posted on January 11, 2014, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. That is such an amazing photo of you. You look amazing! I look forward to another year of your blog!

    Love, Hannah

  2. Let’s make that one of your goals for this year!

    Love, Hannah

  3. Happy new year sweetie! And is it your blog b-day as well? Kind of appears that way. After checking your archives it appears as though tomorrow, the 17th would be your blog birthday, so happy early blog birthday! Yay!

    I so enjoy your writing and style and general outlook, thank you so much for putting yourself out there for everyone to get to know and enjoy.

    Btw, I do like you new LBD especially in combination with the pink blazer, tres chic!

    Oh and I am not that interested in meeting many online folks, but you are one that have pondered hanging out with in person.

    Take care cutie! (Hmm, too many !s? maybe…)

    • Thank you, Nadine!!!! 🙂 I had the post finished last weekend and before checking the right date I hit the publish button. Oh well, close enough for me.

      I’m happy that many have enjoyed my posts, which have been therapeutic for me to write. I’ve enjoyed connecting with many others and their blogs, and have found your blog to be so helpful, especially when it comes to fashion and stories about interacting with people in the real world. Who knows, we might some day be able to share a bottle of wine.

      Take care gorgeous!

Leave a Reply

