100 Reasons to Share

The 100th post!  Wow, how time flies by, and what better way to write about it than to talk about sharing, that thing our parents always told us to do.  Over the last 99 posts I’ve been happy to share my thoughts and stories as it relates to ones character and identity.  Another aspect of sharing has been the ability to open up to others around me, in an effort to solidify my identity, and to build strong relationships with people I care about.

Image

You’re sharing more than just drinks when in good company.

Last month something happened that I didn’t ever expect to happen.  I came out to a close friend from work.  Opening up to someone from a workplace can be a tricky situation, and one that I thought might one day happen, but was never expecting to occur.  A friend from work, my wife, and I were at a local brewery, enjoying some drink, music, and a beautiful fall day.  We were having a great time conversing and eventually we all began to share some personal things about ourselves.  It was at this point that I decided it was a good time to share my story as a genderfluid/trans individual.  Following the trend so far, things turned out great.  I felt like this friendship went to a whole new level.  We talked for quite a while about all things gender, which all helped reaffirm my decision to come out to him.  The funniest question I was asked was weather I had ever been hit on while out as Katie, which lead me to talk about my experience at my first drag show.

A couple of weeks later, we all had another chance to hang out over some good food and drinks.  I figured that it would take some time for things to settle in before we had a chance to talk about this topic again.  We all had some great and engaging conversations about LGBT issues, which I find helps me out so much.  When I get a chance to engage with someone, I find that it helps to reinforce the ideas that I’ve thought about for the last couple of years.

During our conversation I had an epiphany, a connection of dots that became clear to me.  It relates to one of the things my friend, Anna, talked about (#28), as well as a couple of TED talk videos posted by my friend Ariana.  It has to do with shame.  I could have chosen to live my life with shame for the way I am.  Instead, I chose the path of self-love, a path of sharing.  I find that by sharing who I am with people close to me, I’m living a life of my choosing, and a life that no one can argue against.  By choosing this path I take the power away from those who would rather see me be ashamed of who I am.

With that said, have a great weekend. Love,

Katie

About katieinthehall

I'm a rediscovered crossdresser in my early 30's looking to express my thoughts as I move through this journey of discovery.

Posted on November 16, 2013, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 10 Comments.

  1. Congratulations on 100 posts! I love reading your blog! Stay beautiful.

    Love, Hannah

  2. 🙂 ❤ ^ This Blog/ger

  3. Congrats on 100 Posts and good for you for not living in shame. There’s no shame in being who you are, and you are fabulous.

  4. Congrats on your 100th post and especially on the self-love.

    Wishing you well, Nadine.

Leave a Reply

