Expectations and Reality

What makes a person who they are?  What makes them deal with issue the way they do?  Recently I’ve been thinking a lot about how an individual chooses to deal with a challenge, large or small.  How someone deals with the gap between expectations and reality has to define an individual up to a point, I think.

So often, ones mind will build an expectation of something that reality just can’t stand up to.  There are countless examples I can think about, such as the expectation that waxing was going to be this great thing that was going to solve all my problems, to the reality that it’s going to take time and effort to really see the benefit.  Optimism can help bridge this gap between the two, and with hard work, the goal can be achieved.

Ouch!

Ouch! That did some damage!

There is also the expectation that my indoor cat, who has always been healthy, will always be okay.  The reality of course if that he’ll have kidney stones and almost die on us.  That gap was breached with $900 and the realization that I really love my cat and missed him when he was at the ER vet, even though he still gives me judgmental looks for no good reason.

Cat: Put me down now!!!

Cat: Put me down, now!!!

There is also the expectation of routine phone calls from my 82 year old grandmother, who lives 5000 miles away, with news that all is well.  The reality is that she is 82 with mounting, serious health problems.  The reality that I may have just had the last conversation with a woman who had an enormous impact in my life.  I hope to bridge that gap with the knowledge that the life lessons she taught me will be passed on, and the hope that doctors can help her.

It’s not always like this, the reality of life can sometimes surpass your expectations.  Yesterday, my wife and I were at a pub having some drinks with a good friend from my work.  Up to this point, I never expected that I would reveal Katie to someone from work, but the reality of what happened surprised me, in a good way.  We were all talking about personal issues, and after having had a drink or two, I though it was a good time to reveal something personal about myself.  As with other friends, I thought carefully before telling my friend about Katie, and to my relief, the reality of the outcome was so positive and rewarding.

Expectation: I hope this new top works out.  Reality: Nailed it!

Expectation: I hope this new top works out. Reality: Nailed it!

It’s not easy bridging the gap between ones expectations and reality, but how we choose to deal with the difference reveals something interesting about ourselves.  With that said, I now have the expectation that I will enjoy the rest of the evening before succumbing to the reality that the weekend is almost over.  Oh well, such is life…

Much love,

Katie

About katieinthehall

I'm a rediscovered crossdresser in my early 30's looking to express my thoughts as I move through this journey of discovery.

Posted on October 13, 2013, in Be Yourself, crossdressing, Family/Friends and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 8 Comments.

  1. Lovely person, deep thoughts. Keep beaming that great smile and I am sure you continue to have pleasant surprises. 🙂

  2. Ow! Did you do the waxing yourself? And yeah, that’s what my chest looks like, too. I’m always going back to that scene in the “The 40-Year-Old Virgin” in my head. You know the one.

    Aside from that, the end result is *gorgeous!*

    • Thank you Sirena! 🙂 I did the waxing at home with a little help from my wife. It did hurt, but at least it didn’t hurt to the point that I was comically screaming and ranting. lol

  3. Isn’t it a tough thing; expectations and reality? I too struggle with this often. I had such huge expectations for what waxing would do for me that when reality smacked me upside my head I pretty much gave up on it. But as with most things, the nagging feeling that maybe I could improve my results with effort and iterations, I returned to it within time. And as has been my experience, I have improved my results.

    What I have generally seen is that my expectations of greatness have been largely exaggerated while my expectations of horror have been greatly exaggerated. Which I suppose is an acceptable thing. I generally don’t experience awesome perfection but then again I generally don’t experience horrendous horrors either. So… I suppose that leaves me happy in the middle?

    Hmm… Interesting. Thanks for the thought provoking post!

    • It’s my pleasure Nadine. I enjoy thinking (and writing) about these things on a deeper level from time to time. It seems that we’re in the middle when it comes to many things…interesting indeed.

  4. My one experience with waxing myself was a disaster. I never got the wax completely out of the carpet. Good thing it wasn’t my house. The wax pot and all of the other supplies are going into my next garage sale.

Leave a Reply

