Summertime Slowdown

Heat be damned, I'm getting dressed up!

Heat be damned, I’m getting dressed up!

Wow, it’s been three weeks since my last post.  I’ve been a bit out of the loop when it comes to the blogging world.  To be honest, I’ve been busy with some other things, mostly catching up on some awesome video games, which I’ve fallen way behind on over the years, and binging on episode after episode of Dr. Who.  On top of that, I’ve lost some motivation to do some writing on my thoughts and feelings, as I haven’t had a chance to spend time as Katie for a few weeks.

I love summer for all the activities in the city, but I don’t like the summer when it comes time to don that wig.  Besides the heat, I have a separate issue when it comes to being comfortable.  I would love to be able to wear a dress and enjoy a nice summer evening out.  The issue has to do with my hair, all that body hair.  Now, I know every guy has body hair, so you may say “Katie, why don’t you just shave it off”?  That sounds easy, but you must understand that when I say I have body hair, I mean I have a ridiculous amount of body hair (head to toe, and from front to back).  It’s been something I’ve had to deal with since middle school (I’m serious, I remember starting to shave in 7th grade).  I avoid the pools, the beeches, and the water parks, anything where I have to take off my shirt.

This all means that when I do dress up, I wear jeans (or thick opaque tights), long sleeve tops, or jackets to help cover up the hair.  So far it has worked out just fine, at least when it’s not 100 degrees out.  I’m always looking for ways to improving myself, and trying to achieve my goals, whether it is coming out to friends and family, or practicing on my skills.  Recently my friend, Nadine, wrote a nice post on waxing.  After reading her article and watching some YouTube videos, I thought that waxing might be a worth a try.  I ordered everything I need and will have to try it out in the following weeks.

I’ll take it slow and see how it goes.  It might be a while before I work up to waxing the whole body, and I’ll have to see how my wife reacts to it.  She’s mentioned in the past that she likes all that body hair, and I have to think about the balance.  Is it fair to take away something she likes about me?  If I were hairless, I might love going to the pool, or the beach.  We’ll just have to wait and see how it works out.

I hope you all had a great weekend,

Katie

About katieinthehall

I'm a rediscovered crossdresser in my early 30's looking to express my thoughts as I move through this journey of discovery.

Posted on September 2, 2013, in crossdressing, Dress up day and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 7 Comments.

  1. Katie-

    When you do give waxing a go, be aware of good skin care afterwards and have something ready to assist with in grown hairs. I tend to get quite a few of them but with a variety of products I am able to keep them under control. What products? Well a washcloth works wonders, as well as some skill with tweezers. But I also use some skin sloughing products. Just be prepared and don’t be surprised.

    Good luck!

    Nadine

  2. I bought a waxing hotpot and all the other necessities and tried to do it myself only one time with disastrous results and spend three times as long cleaning up and had wax stuck to places to which you would not want wax to be stuck, especially when it is still hot. I would recommend you let your wife do it on you because you must pull the strips in the opposite direction that the hair grows to work and it is amazing how ones body hair grows in so many different directions at once. Fortunately, each time you do it is grows back slower and lighter each time and after four treatments by a girlfriend just starting out as an aesthetician in her home. She gave my first treatment for free and charged me a lot less than the pros because she said she needed the practice. Rots a ruck!

  3. I meant to say that after four treatment in the course of 9 months, I now only need infrequent touch ups mostly on my arms and hands and also around my eyebrows.

    • That’s good to know that over the course of time the hair grows back slower and lighter, just what I need. There are plenty of tutorials and tips online, which I’ll study up on before we give it a try. I’ll keep you all updated.

  4. well all that good work is paying off! you look beautiful and i hope you were able to enjoying dressing up and going out!

Leave a Reply

