Time to get my hands dirty…with makeup!

As many of you know, I love makeup.  I love the transformative properties it provides along with the artistic creativity it affords me.  I’ve been working on my skills with makeup for nearly three years now and it seems to be getting me noticed.  I’ll be the first one to tell you that I am by far not a professional makeup artist, and will admit to the fact that I think I’m quite average when it comes to makeup.  With that being said I’ve received many compliments from people all over the place, and recently my friend Hanna has suggested that I give a little rundown on my routine.  So here we go…

Before we get too deep into the post, let me talk a little about the tools of the trade.  If you’re just starting out with makeup, it’s probably a good idea to stick with cheap options, such as using swabs or cheap brushes for applying eyeshadows, and using drugstore brands of makeup.  As you get the hang of it, you can then move up and invest in a nice set of brushes and makeup.  Another basic tip, YouTube!!!  I learned almost everything I know from it, and so can you!

After getting a close shave and finding a confortable place to sit, I usually start of first with my eyes (I usually make a mess with eyeshadows).  I start with a primer base (Urban Decay Eyeshadow Primer Potion), and then I start my work with the Urban Decay Naked palette (around $50, a heck of a deal for what you get), for a bold natural eye makeup look. DSC_0089

I usually start with a white eyeshadow and brush that up from the inner corner up to the brow for a highlight color.  Then I take a light gold color for the inner eye, and gradually change to darker shades as I work myself to the outer eye.  Then I take a dark color, and with a blending brush, blend that color from the outside corner towards the inner corner along the crease of the eye.Untitled-1

I use a MAC Kohl pencil (in Feline) to line the bottom and smudge the line with a pencil brush.   I then use the same pencil to color in my bottom and top waterline (the top is not necessary and tough to do), followed by MAC blacktrack gel liner for the inner eye (I get the pointy thin line in the inner corner by using a thin brush I bought at a crafts store, cheap way to go, oh…and a ton of practice).Untitled-2

I finish up the eyes with a brow pencil (I use a thin brush to blend out the color along the brown and fill it in), lashes, and some mascara.Untitled-3

After applying some lotion, and a base primer (MAC Perp+Prime), it’s time for the foundation (MAC studio fix fluid).  Since I am quite pale, I have a noticeable line of foundation at the bottom of my neck, which I blend out into my upper chest with the lightest shade of foundation I could find.  This gives me a nice transition from the face, to the neck, and to the body.  I follow this up with Dermablend along my beard area, which does wonders to coverup the noticeable beard shadow.  I finish up the foundation with a translucent powder to set the foundation.Untitled-4

Next up: contouring.  This is most dramatically used by drag queens to shape their faces, but I tone it down quite a bit for an everyday look.  You can search for YouTube videos to explain how to contour the face.  I use a MAC blush palette to help shape the face, the nose, and the cheeks, using a light color for the highlight, and some shades of brown to create depth.Untitled-5

To finish things up, I add a little blush, line my lips, chose a nice lipstick, and don my wig to wrap it up, at least for the makeup, there’s still an outfit to choose…DSC_0087

Have a great week everyone! Love,

Katie

About katieinthehall

I'm a rediscovered crossdresser in my early 30's looking to express my thoughts as I move through this journey of discovery.

Posted on August 11, 2013, in crossdressing, Dress up day, Makeup and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 18 Comments.

  1. Thank you for posting this! I love the way you do your eyes. And that is one hell of a wig! I’d have bet it was your long hair.

  2. Wonderful! Thank you for doing this/ I am so stealing some of your tips! Do you find that Dermablend is enough? It works fine for my beard line, but under my nose, where the hair is thicker, it kinda shows through a bi…

    Love, Hannah

    • Share away my friend, it was a fun project to do for the day. As for the foundation, I have tried a few different things in the past that might help. Most of the time I do a layer of foundation and Dermablend, which works most of the time. If that’s not enough, try an additional layer of foundation, like a loose power foundation (I’ve tried layering a bit of my wife’s Bareminerals foundation on top of the Dermablend). You could also try using some orange powder as a base before applying the foundation (this is a trick with you can find on youtube http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5cuDT7jbO4M). In other words, there’s a lot of experimentation needed to find what works for each individual.

  3. Reblogged this on SymoneSays…. and commented:
    How to go from looking not so hot to glamourous in a matter of minutes.

  4. kflowermaquillage

    Lovely look doll! I’m a makeup artist so if you love makeup & beauty you should check out my blog! http://www.kateflowermaquillage.wordpress.com

  5. Katie, the pros who put makeup on actors and runway models don’t need to consider anything but what looks natural under tungsten color-correcting white lights that burn at 3200 degrees Kelvin for most indoor scenes. Outside they use those same lights but they more often use reflectors for sunlight to illuminate a scene for the camera, not the human eye in daylight. Therefore you needn’t discount your talent for makeup as not professional, just because being the make-up artist you are is not your profession. Most women will never achieve in their lifetime what you have accomplished in three years on top of being a guy because they don’t need to go as far as you have to achieve a natural look. I would call you a real pro as a make-up artist putting on makeup to get a natural look as a woman in practically any light. Bravo!

  6. You are a true artist. Wow!! 🙂

  7. Wow, Katie, super impressive! I loved this post. Very nicely done.

    I am curious, what is the reasoning for doing your eyes first? I always do my eyes last. I suppose it is due to my wife’s instructions as well as how it has been done whenever I have had a makeover done.

    I too use the UD eyeshadow primer potion but I also really like the lid smoothie from Clinique.

    I have never done any contouring but have been interested in attempting it and you may have just inspired me to give it a go. I absolutely love the effect.

    Thanks for the tips and you are indeed a true artist!

    • Thank you Nadine! I’ve seen people do eyes both ways on YouTube. It’s just a preference, but I do them first because when I work with eye shadows, especially with loose powders, there’s a lot of fallout that lands on my cheek. After cleaning up the mess I make, I start with my foundation.

      There’s a lot on pins on Pinterest I’ve seen that can give you an idea on how to do some contouring. Have fun!

  8. Wow,
    You really look great, you’re quite the artiste

  9. wow! amazing transformation! you are beautiful!

  1. Pingback: How to Have FABULOUS Make Up by Katie Amor! |

Leave a Reply

