Staying Cool

Summer may technically be only a few days old, but here in Memphis, it’s been summer for a month now.  It’s a time when I don’t dress up as much, and when I do, I stay close to a fan and enjoy a cold beverage, which of course brings me to one of my favorite hobbies, home brewing.  We recently wrapped up our summer line of brews, perfect for the summer time heat, and classy enough for any girl.

First up, our “I Hope It’s Kölsch” brew (a beer typical of Cologne, Germany).  A beer light in color, malty sweet, refreshing, and with enough complexity to enjoy slowly.  Next is one of my all time favorites, our “El Hefe Muerto”, a blood orange hefewizen (a German style wheat beer).  The yeast used gives the beer plenty of fruity notes, and the added blood oranges (which we usually find in the stores in January, then store for the spring) give it the sweetness to help with the relentless sun.  The last brew is a classic American pale ale, made popular by brewers like Sierra Nevada.  It has some sweetness from the malt, and the heavier hop dose gives it its bitterness and hop aroma.  Soon, it’ll be time to plan the fall beer lineup.  All in all, a hobby I would recommend to anyone interested in what goes into making beer.

At least with the cool down, I have a chance to try out some new clothes I got from the Express end of season sale.  K and I got some insane deals, including 60% off this pink blazer I love, and some other tops we can share in our collective wardrobe.  I’m really looking forward to going out in these new outfits, once fall arrives that is.  Until then, stay cool my fiends!

DSC_0014

Katie Amor

About katieinthehall

I'm a rediscovered crossdresser in my early 30's looking to express my thoughts as I move through this journey of discovery.

Posted on June 23, 2013, in crossdressing, Dress up day, Drinks/Food, Fashion, Home Brewing and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 11 Comments.

  1. Great jacket, but as always, your eyes steal the show! Beautiful!

    Love, Hannah

    • Thank you Hannah. I’ve got to work what I’ve got. I may not have the legs or the arms (way too much hair), but at least I can work the eyes. 🙂 It’s amazing how big you can get them with a little makeup know-how.

  2. “The dead boss?” Cute! Have you thought about waxing? It’s so much cooler, in my opinion.

    • Yes, we do like to have some fun with our beer labels, and we just couldn’t pass up the creative ideas that blood oranges provided. As for hair removal options, I’m not sure there are many practical options for me. I am covered from head-to-toe and from front-to-back. Thick dark hair that grown back really fast. I’ll have to check up on it, and see if it’s a practical solution. At least I’m trying to make the most of the fashion options available to me, and having a good time doing so.

      • Actually, “boss” in Spanish is spelled jefe but it was cute nonetheless. My brother in Florida is a home brewmeister and brewed the beer for both his sons weddings. Being from half-Polish heritage on my Mom’s side (from Detroit), when I was 21, I grew accustomed to beer between shots of vodka or Canadian whiskey at family functions, especially weddings and wakes.
        I agree with Hannah about the eyes. I wish my hands didn’t shake so much so I could draw a thin line with the liquid eyeliner. I had my eyebrows waxed last week for the first time and have received lots of compliments from my friends.

      • The misspelling was intentional to play on the German word Hefeweizen. Growing up in Argentina we too had lots of booze around, but mostly wine and scotch, and with the social customs, my brother and I would occasionally get a little taste.

        I had many problems with liquid eyeliner starting out, and it wasn’t until I changed products that things improved with practice (I also find it helpful to sit down at a table to do my makeup). I started using gel liner (Blacktrack from MAC) and bought a small painting brush from Michaels. But in the end, nicely shaped eyebrows can make a world of difference too.

      • I totally missed that connection. I was in the hospital two weeks ago for surgery on a herniated disk and I haven’t been as bright as usual.

  3. I always feel weird admitting this, but I don’t like beer. I know, I know…

    Anyways… What I do like are your clothes. Super cute! I too like the pink blazer, I’m jealous actually, and I also like the polka dots!

    • Well, beer can be tricky, with all the different styles and categories. I’ve seen way too many people judge others for what they drink (beer and wine snobs) and I for one say enjoy what you like, and don’t be afraid to try new things.

      Over the last year or so, I’ve become addicted to the Express store in the mall, for their male and female lines (their clothes fit so well on me). When I tried on the polka dot top (also from Express) with the new blazer, K commented that it really worked as a daytime outfit, and of course, the black top with the blazer is my favorite as a nighttime outfit (dark, sinister, sexy). Can’t wait to take them out on the town. 🙂

Leave a Reply

