She’s Crafty

She’s Craft

As a guy, being 6’1″ has its advantages at times.  I help out around the apartment and at stores, reaching for things out of reach of my 5-foot-even wife.  At concerts I have no problem seeing the stage, peering above the heads if others.  However, in the past couple of years I’ve realized there are some drawbacks of being tall, as a trans/crossdresser.  I have a hard time finding shoes that fit, and when they do, I tower over everyone in my heels, helping draw a lot of attention when out and about.  Jewelry is also a problem, having a hard time finding rings and bracelets that fit my finders and wrists.

The other day, while spending time on Pinterest looking for accessory ideas, I had the idea that I should make my own jewelry.  I have often bought elastic rings, thinking that the elastic string would help to fit my larger fingers, only to find that they cut off the blood supply to my finger.  Not my idea of a good time!  So a stop to our local Michael’s was in order.  I wasn’t sure what I would find, or how much they had for jewelry making, but I was surprised with the quantity of options available.  I bought some adjustable ring blanks, large pendants, some silk flowers, and my first glue gun.

As you might guess, Glue Gun and I will be close friends.  I absolutely love the rings I put together, and will be wearing them out soon.  I also bought some elastic sting to fix my other rings, which were too tight.  Now that I have these tools in hand, I keep coming up with other custom jewelry ideas!

Katie

About katieinthehall

I'm a rediscovered crossdresser in my early 30's looking to express my thoughts as I move through this journey of discovery.

Posted on March 31, 2013, in crossdressing, Dress up day, Fashion and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 10 Comments.

  1. I’m 5’11’ and wear Women’s 12W and buy my shoes at Payless. I have been making earrings and other jewelry for years with the intent to give them to women friends but never did because I liked them so much. Now I can wear them myself, tee hee!

  2. Wow, what fun Katie! What a great idea. It looks as though it is working out well for you. Please continue to share your creations. I have a really tough time with most jewelry, a little with fit issues, but mostly with materials. I have a nickel allergy and apparently they put nickel in quite a bit of silver looking jewelry, which is my favorite. Thus I can only reliably wear silver, gold, platinum, and surgical steel. Oh well.

    As far as shoes go, I always thought my feet were oddly small for a male, but now I love them, and have not thought negatively of them in many years. I can wear a 9.5 in ladies.

    I love the photos btw. Your outfit is super cute and I love the eye makeup! It looks great on you!

    • Thank you so much Nadine! 🙂 I love how the dramatic eye looks make my eyes pop. I guess that’s my inner drag queen coming out a little. I’m feeling like my fashion sense is getting so much better than where I was a year ago. I’ve got plenty of outfits ready for when I want to dress up and go out on the town. As for the jewelry, I’ve notices some pieces left a gray stain on my fingers, which faded in a couple of days. I think I’ll have to be more careful when getting supplies to make my jewelry. Have a nice weekend Nadine!

  3. Putting on makeup is a real performance isn’t it – but the end result is the reward.
    Well done!
    I had a lot of bother with gold plated jewellery to begin with. It really wears badly if you let it touch skin with makeup on it and leaves a black mark. Keeping it really clean by washing in surgical spirit after use helps a lot. Of course real gold would be better. A girl can dream!
    Penny

    • Thank you Penny. It’s taken a lot of practice to improve my makeup skills, but in the end I just love the creativity that it offers me. As for the jewelry, I’ll be checking out the available materials for my new found hobby the next time I’m out and about. I’ve even thought of going to some consignment shops to see if they have some decent quality used jewelry which I can customize. The options are endless and provide for lots of fun.
      Katie

  4. Great tips and looks Katie! You are truly becoming an artist with makeup! I am over 6′ and always have dreamed of being short. The confidence needed to sell being trans, tall, and heels is through the roof!

  5. Hi Katie, great outfit! Accessories and make-up are A+++!

    • Thank you so much Renae! It’s only through a lot of practice (YouTube tutorials) and trips to the mall (with the help of Pinterest) that I’ve gotten this far. I’ve learned that I like to live on the extravagant/eccentric side of life! Especially on the weekends! 🙂

Leave a Reply

