Nashvegas

This past weekend, my wife needed a much-deserved spring break from all the schoolwork, so we packed up our suitcase and headed down the road, to Nashville (or Nashvegas as our friends call it).  We took in the sights on Broadway, listened to live music, had a few drinks, and enjoyed the company of some friends who joined in on our trip.  Our friends took us to a great piano bar call “The Big Bang”, where the audience can request any song, and the band would play it, for a price of course.  It amazed me the extent of music knowledge the band members needed to know in order to keep up with the requests.  We even enjoyed an SEC tournament basketball game, watching a back and forth game between Florida and Alabama.

Besides The downtown scene, we took full advantage of our shopping options.  We went to a few liquor stores, where I found some awesome hard to find and interesting beers (it’s like an adult scavenger hunt).  We also enjoyed some local beers and a Yazoo brewery tour.  Thankfully we were only a short taxi ride away from our hotel.

My love of MAC Cosmetics was only reinforced through this trip.  Anytime I’ve been to a MAC store and I asked for assistance in finding products for me, not just for my wife, they have always been so helpful.  The makeup artist in Nashville even suggested a couple of local clubs that feature Nashville’s drag queens (future trip?!?! Definitely!).  Thanks to Pinterest, I had a game plan ready for the malls of Nashville and was able to pickup some new tops, which will help fill out my wardrobe.  Including these outfits into my photo album has been helping me keep a record of which pieces work together, and it helps keep outfit ideas ready for anytime I decide to venture out.Untitled

During my time in Nashville, I began to realize and feel that I have been neglecting my male self.  I have spent a lot of time over the last year, building up my Katie wardrobe, and working on putting outfits together.  During this time I have done almost no shopping for me, the male side.  Now that I have a decent wardrobe for Katie, I have begun to feel that I need to put that energy towards improving the guy side of the closet.  I’ve been wearing the same clothes to work for years (some with holes in them), and it’s definitely time for an overhaul.

I like to think that I am good at balancing things in my life, but sometimes that’s easier said than done.  Time to realize the imbalance and work to correct it.

Katie

About katieinthehall

I'm a rediscovered crossdresser in my early 30's looking to express my thoughts as I move through this journey of discovery.

Posted on March 20, 2013, in crossdressing, Family/Friends, Fashion and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. I too noticed the same thing about neglecting my male self awhile ago. I try to keep things balanced but it is challenging. One of the things that I have noticed is how much easier it is to buy girls clothes that I like, because there are simply so much more of them to peruse. The disparity between available girls clothes and guy clothes is stunning. Go into any department store and about 3/4 of the entire store is for females.

    • So true. We went to an outlet mall in Nashville, where they had a gigantic Forever 21 store, and I completely became overwhelmed with the choices. I ended up only getting a red tank top and moved to another store. Today we did some shopping for my guy side, and I noticed that it was a different experience than years past. I’ve learned a lot about clothes since shopping for Katie, and I’ve begun to apply those lessons to my male self. I ended up getting some stylish button up shirts and jeans. A good day in the end.

Leave a Reply

