Cake Time

DSC_0019

One year ago I started my blog with simple aspirations. I wanted to get my thoughts out there and use the blog to help my close friends to understand who I was realizing myself to be. After one year I have been rewarded with so much more. More than I could have ever imagined. It has been a year with plenty of ups and down, with challenges and rewards, with joys and sorrows, but there is not a single thing I would change.

Looking back at the goals I set out for myself a year ago, I didn’t think I could achieve them all. I didn’t think I had the confidence to do the things I did this past year. Just to think that I came out to friends as a crossdresser/genderqueer/gender fluid/trans (whatever you choose to call it), and went out in public not just once, but three times. It truly is remarkable how much self esteem and confidence one gains when you choose to accept who you are, set some goals, all while having a great support system behind you.

Out of all the things I did this past year, the most important was revealing my true self to close and trusted friends. The first time I did, I was scared of the reaction, but with each friend who I told about Katie, the easier it became. I’ve been so fortunate that my close friends have been so supportive, even to the point of helping me go for a night out on the town, and helping me with my makeup and fashion sense. Having that support from those closest to me, is something truly priceless.

As I look towards the next year, what else could I do? How could I push myself further? Get out of my comfort zone? I would like to make some more connections in the Memphis LGBT community, and going to some more local events to show my support for a great group of people. I have come to realize this past year that for me, it isn’t about trying to change/improve the world singlehandedly. Fighting, arguing, debating. I have realized that the best contribution I can make to this world is just to live my life the way I choose to live it, and hope that it has an effect on those around me, an effect which can spread to others.

With all that said, I would just like to say thank you. Thank you for stopping by my little space in this vast online world. To my close friends, I would like to thank you from the depth of my heart for the support you have shown me.

Now it’s time for some cake, and a martini.

Katie

About katieinthehall

I'm a rediscovered crossdresser in my early 30's looking to express my thoughts as I move through this journey of discovery.

Posted on January 17, 2013, in Family/Friends and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 7 Comments.

  1. Love you bunches Katie!!!!

  2. Katie,

    What an absolutely beautiful post! You are an inspiration to us in so many ways, especially to me at the point of wishing so much I could reveal to my family and friends who I really am. Thank you for all you are in my life. May you be richly blessed!

    Warm Hugs,

    Randa Lane

    • Thank you Randa for those kind words. I am so happy that I can help other, just as so many have helped me. It’s such a noble pursuit to understand who one is deep down, and to begin to live by the principles we discover about ourselves. I wish you the best it your pursuit.
      Katie

  3. Katie dear, other than the word “affect” (verb) should be “effect” (noun), I think the following is pure gold.

    “I have realized that the best contribution I can make to this world is just to live my life the way I choose to live it, and hope that it has an affect on those around me, an affect which can spread to others.”

    BTW, January 13, 2011, one year ago my new name, Deanna Joy Hallmark became official.
    Let’s raise a toast while we eat our cake, make mine chocolate and my drink will be a Kentucky Godfather, Maker’s Mark 46 and Amaretto. Bottoms up!

    Deanna Joy

Leave a Reply

