Was That Your Hand On My Ass?

Lady Bunny

Yes, this post has to do with my first experience getting hit on by a guy.  But first some background on how I got to that point.  Last night the fabulous drag queen, Lady Bunny, performed here in Memphis, and we thought it would be a great idea for a bunch of us to attend a drag show for the first time.  Being that this crowd would be friendly, I decided to get dressed up for the occasion.

When we picked up the tickets a couple of days before the show, the staff at the pub assured us that there would be many performers ahead of the midnight feature of Lady Bunny.  As K and I have a bad habit at getting to events way too early, we got to the pub around 9 pm.  Lessoned learned.  In the future don’t even think about going out until 11 pm or midnight.

When K and I (in my awesome 6” heel boots) walked into the pub, the majority of the people were watching football, eating dinner, and drinking beers.  The vibe certainly didn’t feel right.  It was too early.  Needlessly to say I felt immediately out of place, as I quickly found a table in a corner to try and blend in.  We ordered some food and drinks as we waited for some friends to join us later in the night.  Even though K was with me, I felt more vulnerable, compared to a group of friends, which can make for a more comfortable and safe environment.

We headed to the tent setup for the show, and before I knew it, the crowd inside the pub had quickly changed.  Some of the drag queens started to arrive at the venue, along with our friends, making me so much more comfortable.  I enjoyed myself with a drink or two, and with the help of K, used the ladies room for the first time.  There was a line for the single occupancy bathroom, and no one batted an eye at me using the ladies room.  There were a couple of ladies I started chatting with while we were in the line for the ladies room.  They loved my boots.

We were up by the stage as the show got started (at 12:30 am), and while enjoying the music and the drag queens, this guy in leather chaps, who had been giving me a few looks during the night, gave me a nice squeeze of my ass.  I didn’t know how to react, so I just ignored it, which turned out to work, as this guy moved along.  I didn’t mind the gesture.  It didn’t leave a bad taste in my mouth.  When I told my friend (and awesome makeup artist) Britney later that night about it, we had a good laugh about it.

The night ended on a high note, as a group of women came up to compliment me on my look.  They kept saying how awesome it was for me to be out and free as Katie, and even complimented my wife, K, for being such an awesome and supportive wife.  I later found out that these ladies were makeup artists for some of the drag queens.  Getting compliments on my look from professionals was so rewarding.

Lessons learned last night:

  • Drag shows make for great opportunities to go out.
  • Don’t go to drag shows until really late.
  • Be more confident.  What’s going to happen in a crowded pub, with good people around you, especially on drag night?
  • You might get hit on.  Take it in stride and move along.
  • At some point, your feet will be screaming at you, even if you do have some awesome heels on.
  • And lastly, “Don’t be a drag, be a queen”.

I hope you all had a great weekend,

Katie

About katieinthehall

I'm a rediscovered crossdresser in my early 30's looking to express my thoughts as I move through this journey of discovery.

Posted on November 11, 2012, in crossdressing, Dress up day and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 9 Comments.

  1. The movement between male privilege and female privilege and male vulnerability and female vurnerabulity has got to be one of the most interesting things to study if you are gender fluid. I’m still weirded out when guys hit on me. But knowing you can crush guys if they come talk and you reject them is an interesting prospect. You’re an inspiration to us all, Katie.

    • Thank you Ariana. I had read of this kind of thing happening to others who move between genders, but I totally wasn’t expecting it to happen to me. It is a different world, and as you said, one which can be interesting to analyze. Moving from the masculine world, where a guy at a club can hit on a girl, to a feminine world, where she can shoot them down with just a glare. This is an aspect of femininity I haven’t thought much about yet. I guess it’s all about processing new experiences.

  2. Thanks for sharing Katie! Sounds like a fun night indeed. You sound like you handled it very well. Good advice. No clue if I could have been as calm and cool. Love hearing about your adventures, keep sharing Katie. Ariana is correct, inspiration. And K sounds so amazing. You are a very luck gal. 🙂

    • Thank you Anna. I’m glad others can take something away from my experiences, it’s more than I had hoped for when starting this blog. Like you, I am fortunate I have an accepting wife, along with a hand full of friends who I have trusted with personal information about me. With out those two things, I doubt I would be where I am today.

  3. Uhm, why wouldn’t a guy hit on Katie? She’s freaking hot!!!!

  4. It is so lovely to me that your wife can also be a girl friend to you as well.

    • I am so fortunate that I have a few girl friends around me who support and encourage me. I also keep in mind that my wife also needs a supportive husband by her side, which I am comfortable in doing.

  1. Pingback: 100 Reasons to Share | katieinthehall

Leave a Reply

