Own It!

Over the last month, having gone out in public twice as Katie (last night as Bloody Mary), the most important lesson I’ve learned is to “Own It”.  If you set out to do something for yourself, be confident in what you do, and don’t let anyone get you down.  Owning what you do has such a powerful affect on your attitude and those around you.

Last night was the first time in years that I’ve dressed up in a costume for Halloween.  My costume of choice this year had to reflect the feminine side I’ve developed, and a need to satisfy my badass attitude I wanted to explore.  As a fan of MissChievous on YouTube, I fell in love with her vampire tutorial, and I had my mind set on this look for months, as I worked on getting all the parts to build the outfit.  A black leather jacket, with dark jeans, and a kick ass pair of Nine West black platform heeled boots.  After pride, I spent a couple of weekends getting the makeup down, to the point I was happy with.

These boots were made for walking, and stomping the life out of anyone who gets in my way!

On Saturdays, my wife K, has nursing clinicals, which take up most of the day.  The plan was for me to get ready at our apartment and meet K, along with some friends, downtown after they were done with their nursing stuff.  This meant I had to get ready and drive downtown, alone.  I was a little nervous, but I knew this is want I wanted and needed to do.  After putting on the last part of my outfit, the black leather jacket, I had this amazing confident feeling flow over me.  I was so happy with how I looked, I had no problem stepping out that door with my head held high, believing on who I was and what I was doing.

Mmm, you look tasty. What’s your blood type?

The night consisted of wondering downtown on Beale street, having some drinks, food, playing some darts (in my awesome boots), and going to some karaoke bars.  Our group consisted of K (dressed as Katniss from the hunger games), myself, and a couple, one of who is a classmate with K.  This couple have become good friends of ours and have been so respectful and open to me and Katie.

Black and white makes anything look cool.

The one issue that came up last night was which restroom to use.  I figured that since I was about 6’6″ with my boots on, I wasn’t fooling anyone, and to avoid making a scene, I used the men’s room.  Luckily, most of the times I had to go, there weren’t many people around.  The best part was the offer from our friends to kick anyone’s ass if they messed with me, which was a nice offer, and which luckily wasn’t needed.

Where am I?

In the end it was a great night.  Many people stopped me in the street to ask for pictures, and complement me on my heels.  I was proud I wore them all night long without complaining.  I was confident stomping the streets and owning who I was, feeling like a badass, with no one getting in my way.  If they did, I would have just bit them to death and drank their still warm blood.  Muahahahaha!

I guess this beer will do, for now….

Happy Halloween everyone,

Katie

About katieinthehall

I'm a rediscovered crossdresser in my early 30's looking to express my thoughts as I move through this journey of discovery.

Posted on October 28, 2012, in Be Yourself, crossdressing, Dress up day, Family/Friends, Heels, Makeup and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. Great advice Katie! It looks like you did own it. Awesome look. So glad you got to go out and have some fun.

  2. There are very few things like being confident in heels. It takes grace, balance, and a get-out-my-way attitude. I always felt skeptical about using the word “fierce” because of all the drag-steretypes associated with it. But honey, I get those things on, FIERCE is what I am. LOVED your post… you’ve made so much progress. I hope that you’re happy and life keeps turning new adventures for you.

    • Thank you Ariana. I definitely needed some fierceness in my life. I’ll have to come up with some new goals and adventures for next year. Where do I go from here…time will tell. At least I’ve got some awesome shoes to help me get there.

Leave a Reply

