Pride

Britney and I at MAC

Britney and I at MAC

Yesterday I checked off the last goal I had set out to achieve this year when I started my blog back in January.  Several months back, our good friends from Mississippi invited me to join them for the Mid-south pride festival, which took place yesterday on Beale street in Memphis.  I committed myself to attend and there was no looking back. For months I worked over the details as I put together my plan for the event.  We went shopping for an outfit, purse, makeup, and even got some contact lenses.  I kept practicing my skills to achieve the look I wanted.  I washed my favorite wig and took care to untangle the hairs, section by section.  I knew that if I wanted to go out for the first time, I wanted to look the best that I could.

Saturday morning I started out by waking up early, having some tea and breakfast, and then hitting the shower to do a lot of shaving.  I had a ton of arm hair to shave, along with my face and chest.  Then I went through my regular routine to get ready for the day.  Our friends from Mississippi arrived around noon, and then we headed downtown.  The sun was out, and it was turning out to be a gorgeous start to the day.  But by the time we parked the car, the clouds rolled in, along with the wind, as it started to get a little cool.

By this time, I was just a little nervous and looking forward to getting to the park where they had the event stationed.  We walked through Beale street, and the first thing I enjoyed was the feeling of the wind blowing through my favorite wig, as I kept running my fingers through it.  Awesome 🙂  I walked through the streets with confidence and I didn’t look people in the eye, thinking it would bring unnecessary attention.  I just minded my own business, with a little grin on my face, as if nothing was out of the ordinary.

We got to the park next to Beale street and walked around the different LGBT associated booths they had set up.  I got to meet some of the local drag queens as people were getting ready for the parade.  Unfortunately the skies opened up and it began to rain.  Needlessly to say, I was shivering, and maybe in the early stages of hypothermia (just kidding, lol).  Because of the rain the crowd was quite light for the parade, and we soon headed to the Rum Boogie Cafe after the parade, to warm up and get something to eat.

One of the best parts of the day was the server at the restaurant.  She began by asking me “What would you like to drink shug?” in an awesome, typical southern style, followed up by “and what are you having, sweetie?”.  That just stuck with me, putting a nice smile on my face.  Unfortunately, the rain continued, and after our burgers, we walked around Beale street a little more, and then headed home.  It would have been nice to spend some more time at the park and make some new connections, but people were already closing up and heading out.

One of the last things I wanted to do was to stop by and see my friend and makeup artist Britney at our local MAC counter.  She has helped me though out the year to find the products that have helped me out, and to really appreciate makeup.  She also is someone special because she dresses as the woman she is meant to be and has made me realize that it’s no big deal to be out and about as the person you truly are.  Be confident and proud!

Overall it was a great experience, despite the weather.  Things were much easier than I thought, probably because I planned this out as much as I could, and with great friends to lean on, anything was possible.

Now it’s time to plan my halloween outing. 🙂

Katie

About katieinthehall

I'm a rediscovered crossdresser in my early 30's looking to express my thoughts as I move through this journey of discovery.

Posted on October 7, 2012, in Be Yourself, crossdressing, Dress up day, Family/Friends and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 8 Comments.

  1. That pic of you with your hand on the railing…dang! You look great and more importantly you look happy. So glad you had a great day!

  2. I’m glad you had fun. You look stunning!

  3. Cait couldn’t have said it better. Stunning as always from your Mississippi friend’s!

  4. So awesome and looking great Katie! Amazing getting out isn’t it?

Leave a Reply

