Meh

I’ve been away from this blog for a couple of weeks and I think it’s from a sense of just not feeling it.  It’s been a busy couple of weeks, starting with my wife’s car accident, on Friday the 13th of all days.  We are so fortunate that she was’t injured and no one else was involved, but her poor car was totaled.  We’re now searching the web for a nice used car and will spend quite some time searching the lots for a nice replacement.

I got into a further funk after reading about the shootings in Colorado.  Anytime these events happen, they immediately take me back to memories from the Virginia Tech shootings in 2007.  I was a graduate student and assistant to a professor at Tech, which put me in a position to hear horrific, heart wrenching stories from those students that lived through the shooting, and from those who were the first responders.  Anytime there’s a news story like this, I close down emotionally, and it takes me time to work through the emotions.

Life goes through cycles.  I was on cloud nine a couple of weeks after I was able to achieve the look I wanted, and now I’m just working through a slump, which will pass in time.  I even tried to dress up this past weekend, but just wasn’t feeling it, and within a couple hours I washed off all that makeup and put the heels in the closet.

Embrace those times of joy and work through times of challenge.  What else can one do?

Katie

About katieinthehall

I'm a rediscovered crossdresser in my early 30's looking to express my thoughts as I move through this journey of discovery.

Posted on July 25, 2012, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. I can relate in many ways to this. At least with cycles you know that it does go the other too.

  2. Sorry to hear about your wife’s accident. I’m glad she is okay. The shootings reminded me of Va Tech too; you & i have closer links that i had realized. Sometimes life does get really funky. Thanks for the reminder to embrace the joy.

    • Anytime Karen. We actually got a nice used Honda civic today, one which was really well taken care off. Things seem to be getting back on track. Finishing the episode with the car, and working through some emotions. Things are on the upswing and I hope you, Jacob, and the rest of your family have a nice weekend. I think I’ll spend it by catching up on the RuPaul Drag Race on Netflix 🙂 and brewing up some more beer.

Leave a Reply

