Practice Makes Perfect

Since January 2011, when K helped me buy my own makeup supplies, I’ve been diligently working on improving my makeup skills, and in the process, really appreciating makeup as an art (I spend lots of time going through Tumblr pictures, looking at some amazing work).  Looking back at those first pictures I took in 2011 and comparing them to those I took this past weekend, I know that I’ve come a long way to learning who I am and becoming comfortable with myself, to the point of inviting friends over to our apartment to see Katie in person.

Left, early 2011; right, July 2012

This past Sunday, after taking a couple weeks off from dressing (heat waves and wigs don’t mix 😦 ), I changed up my foundation routine, and was amazed at the difference it did for me.  Since the beginning, covering my dark beard shadow was the biggest challenge I had going for me (in terms of appearance).  It would just bring me down each time I would take pictures and see that beard popping through.  I’ve tried MAC foundation, and Dermablend, but this weekend I finally found the combination of products that work best for me, and boy what big smiles it brought out of me.  I found that a Maybelline Dream Smooth Mousse foundation, followed by a layer of BareMinerals foundation did the best job of all the products I’ve tried.

I spent Sunday in the apartment, taking a bunch of pictures (seems to be a common activity for crossdressers/gender queer), watching some sports, and above all, staying cool (with a fan and a martini 🙂 ).  By the end of the day, my muscles were tired of smiling so much because I was so happy at the improvements I’ve made, even tearing up at times.  These feelings are so much more than just the superficial improvements I’ve worked towards, it’s an increase in my confidence that brought out those smiles and tears.

Yum

Who said alcohol dehydrates you?!?!

Trying to stay cool…

I might have to think about getting some contacts

I finally feel like I have the confidence to stand up for myself in so many ways.  The outside confidant appearance only works to bolster the inner confidence.  I feel like I am getting closer to the goals I’ve set out for myself at the beginning of the year, to the point that I’m running out of excuses to avoid venturing outside.  Having that confidence, and a great group of supportive friends, really make overcoming those fears we share become easier to overcome.

Have a great rest of the week,

Katie

About katieinthehall

I'm a rediscovered crossdresser in my early 30's looking to express my thoughts as I move through this journey of discovery.

Posted on July 10, 2012, in crossdressing, Dress up day, Makeup and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 7 Comments.

  1. You look great with glasses!

  2. To me, you look like the proverbial “sexy librarian” in your glasses. Still, your eyes are so much prettier without them. I used to wear my glasses all the time and bought myself a new pair of glasses much like in the July photo for Christmas after a friend said I needed to seriously do something about my “butch” ones.. I am supposed to wear them for driving, but as I used to be a cab driver in my small city, I know my way around better than most and keep them in my purse more often now to pull out only when I need them, like in department and grocery stores. I have tried contacts in my youth but am reluctant to try again because of so many failed attempts in the past.
    Wigs are still a part of my life and fortunately the hottest month of June is now over, yet, I am going to the hairdresser today where I bought my first one to see if she can do anything with what I’ve oh so slowly grown out since my last “men’s cut” last October.
    Also, as I am trying to start a new career as a bartender and keep a full bar at home to practice on myself and housemate, With raise a toast to alcohol. На здоровья (Na zdrovia), Katie!

  3. Muchas Gracias Deanna! I’m due for an eye exam at the end of the year, so I might try to get some contact lenses then. I like doing some dramatic eye makeup and the glasses tend to block all that work from view. It’ll also be a big help when I’m playing ice hockey, as I usually don’t ware my glasses on the ice, and as a result I have to squint the whole game. I hope things went well with your hair stylist. Cheers Deanna! (with a glass of scotch in hand).

    • Actually, I see her tomorrow as she couldn’t fit me in today! BTW, I know a drink made with Scotch and Amaretto which is called a Godfather. My variation on it is Maker’s Mark Kentucky Bourbon which makes it a Kentucky or Southern Godfather.

  4. great article, i hope to be near you, and learn about make up…..

Leave a Reply

