How Time Flies

It’s hard to believe that it’s been almost 6 months since I started my blog, and it feels like time has gone by so fast, yet so much has changed.  I am so happy that my wife and M supported me with the idea of writing this blog, where I’ve had the chance to meet some great individuals and make some new friends.  It’s given me the chance to develop into the person I am and will be, without the social expectations hanging over me (to some extent at least).

One of the great things I’ve come to appreciate from this blog, and reading others, is the appreciation of the diversity among all those in the trans community.  With this divers crowd, it’s allowed me to develop my own feelings on who I am, while appreciating the differences and similarities which bring us together.

Opening up to all these divers views on gender, either from bloggers who live it, or parents/spouses who are supportive of it, has really emphasized to me that there’s no wrong way to be yourself.  When I first started to realize that I had this feminine aspect to my identity, I started doing research online, and quickly realized that although we may all share some basic aspect to our identity, we have many differences as well.  Each of our roads will likely lead in different directions, and if you feel like you’re going in the right direction, no one can tell you you’re going in the wrong way.

There’s a whole spectrum of emotions and feelings out there, all of which has helped me to begin to define who I am.  I’ve also realized that things are rarely static for long.  My thoughts on my identity have evolved over the last year and will continue to do so as I feel more comfortable with myself, while also learning from other people’s experiences.

With that, I thank you for taking interest in my story, as I am interested in so many of the blogs I follow.  It’s been an incredible journey so far, and I’m eager to see where I stand after a year.

Have a great 4th of July holiday everyone,

Katie

Fireworks from 2011

About katieinthehall

I'm a rediscovered crossdresser in my early 30's looking to express my thoughts as I move through this journey of discovery.

Posted on July 3, 2012, in Be Yourself and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 8 Comments.

  1. I know exactly how you feel, I passed my 6 month a few weeks ago, and it’s wierd to look back already and see how much things have changed

    • It truly is weird. So many things have turned out for the better. I’m glad that your fiancé is supportive of Mel, who you are discovering is a big part of who you are.

  2. I feel honored to have been one of the first people to find out about Katie and I am so honored you felt secure enough to tell me about her. Meeting Katie was awesome, and I feel like she’s gonna be a part of all of our lives for a long time. You’re really lucky to have K as such a supportive wife, and I’m so lucky to call you both my friends. Love you all bunches!!!!

    • Awww, that about brought tears to my eyes M. Thank you for your support. It’s easy to talk to friends like you. I’ve been told by so many people that K is special, and I am lucky to be with her.

  3. A happy and SAFE 4th 2U2! I have learned so much about the diversity of gender identification since I started my own transition & blog and met so many new friends like you that even with all the difficulties we face to live our true selves, it is certainly a wonderful world we live in, in this day of the world wide web!

    • I really have begun to respect those who had to evolve in the times before the internet. It’s really made sharing ones story so much easier, while at the same time learning so much from others.

  4. This was one of the most thoughtful and insightful blog posts I have read. There is no right way or wrong way to be who you are.
    It is a wonderful spectrum of emotions that evolve and change over time.
    You have a great blog and are very wise in your approach to who you are and who you may be.
    Peace
    Pat

Leave a Reply

