I’m a Feminist Because…

K forwarded me yet another awesome video from YouTube.  It’s this kind of message that makes me hopeful that things will improve as people begin to understand that we all must be free to be the individuals we are, free from pressure to be someone we’re not.

My favorite color is purple.  I LOVE heels, and makeup.  I love learning about fashion, although I have a long long way to go.  I love the interactions I have with women, and have built strong friendships with wonderful women, and men.  I support the issues that affect my wife.  I support LGBT causes (although I’d like to get more personally involved).  These things don’t make me less of a person, either when presenting as my masculine or feminine self.  They make for a unique person.

Writing this post made me remember a song by Shania Twain called “Man! I Feel Like A Woman”.  I remember watching this music video A LOT back in high school and thinking “I’d like to have fun like her”.  I wanted to feel what it’s like to ware all those sexy outfits and get to feel those emotions she sings about.  A lot of it is about feeling sexy and confident about ones self, something I never feel when I’m my regular guy self.  I think when I get dressed as Katie, there’s a certain personality/attitude that is developing that is not part of my male side.  They’re emotions that are hard to explain sometimes.  When I have those heels, skirt, wig, and makeup on, I get a little taste of what it feels like, and I love it.  I look in the mirror, and I feel lighter, more confident, with a big smile on my face, a smile which is completely new to me.  I get to put my masculine self aside for a little bit and enjoy being feminine and a little silly (like those pictures from last weekend).  As with the video above, of course there is nothing wrong with this, as long as you’re having a good time doing it.  Now if I could only find some awesome boots like Shania had in the video in size 12 :).

Have a great weekend everyone,

Katie

About katieinthehall

I'm a rediscovered crossdresser in my early 30's looking to express my thoughts as I move through this journey of discovery.

Posted on June 15, 2012, in Be Yourself, crossdressing, Music and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. Great videos and message Katie. That video sums up many things I have been feeling very succinctly. Thanks for sharing. 🙂

  2. Hi Katie! I have nominated you for the “Tell me About Yourself Award! Please go to this link to accept it. http://messagesfromdeanna.wordpress.com/2012/06/21/i-am-truly-honored/

Leave a Reply

