IDAHO

Today is May 17th and IDAHO day, or international day against homophobia and transphobia.  To be honest, in years past, this date didn’t hold much significance to me.  Don’t take it that the wrong way, I’ve always been an open minded person, especially when it comes to a persons right to be happy.

Since realizing that I was “different”, a crossdresser, which I guess falls under the all encompassing T of LGBT (as I’ve said before, these categories and terms confuse the heck out of me), I’ve had the fortune of making many new friends.  Many homosexual, some transgender, and some that would say they are whatever the hell they want to be.  One of these friends said on their Facebook page not long ago, that it’s not a phobia, it’s not about being afraid of people who are different, it’s about being an a-hole.  I definitely liked his status.

Since making these new friends in a new community, I’ve started to take notice of news articles involving LGBT issues.  Some times the news is positive, like Obama’s openness towards same-sex marriage, while other news items bring me to the brink of tears.  When you pay close attention, there are so many young people, going through the pressures of learning who they are, who end up being abused, assaulted, or worse.

This reminds me of the “WTF” podcast (hosted my Mark Maron) episode with comedian Todd Glass, where he came out publicly as gay.  Todd said the main reason he had to come out, was to speak out against the violence and suicide among the youth.

So on this day, I hope that we can all move forward towards love and acceptance for all.

Just a few thoughts I had today,

Katie

About katieinthehall

I'm a rediscovered crossdresser in my early 30's looking to express my thoughts as I move through this journey of discovery.

Posted on May 17, 2012, in Be Yourself, crossdressing, News and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

