Strawberry Fields

This past weekend was just beautiful in the midsouth.  It was great weather to go out strawberry picking.  My wife K and I went to a local orchard and filled a large bucket with $12 worth of fresh strawberries.  We had so much that we decided to make some ice cream, a pie, milk shakes, and only used up about half of what we picked.  I think next season we’ll have to find a strawberry beer recipe to brew up. 🙂

Besides the strawberry picking, I also got a chance to practice my makeup skills.  I have really come to like the videos from MissChievous on YouTube.  She does some great eye makeup tutorials that I try to duplicate, try being the operative word.  I have found myself really focusing in on the eyes.  With the right kind of makeup, you can really make some dramatic looks.  Flipping through Kevyn Aucoin’s “Making Faces” book has also been a helpful guide.  At least I’m getting better with each time I transform in to Katie.  Some days I do a good job (especially with covering the beard shadow), other days I end up deleting a bunch of pictures because they didn’t turn out well.

It’s something that takes time, but gets better with practice.  Some girls (but not all) spend years growing up playing with makeup and dress up.  I’ve got a lot of catching up to do.  I find myself going through K’s stack of fashion magazines, checking out the latest spring styles, and seeing what kind of clothes might work for me.  At least I’m enjoying the learning experience, which I think is the most important.

Katie

About katieinthehall

I'm a rediscovered crossdresser in my early 30's looking to express my thoughts as I move through this journey of discovery.

Posted on April 18, 2012, in Dress up day, Drinks/Food, Makeup and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

