Miss Universe

Today my wife brought up a news story that she found online, which I thought would be important to share.  I don’t normally follow the pageant shows, but I think this year there will be some controversy in the Miss Universe pageant, the one run by Donald Trump.  In short, Miss Canada has been disqualified, with no reason given initially.  It was later stated that Jenna Talackova, the Miss Canada winner, was disqualified because she was born with male genitalia.  As she said on her Twitter account, she was “disqualified for being born”.

It’s sad to see such a beautiful women disrespected and discriminated against in such a way.  Although I don’t know much about her and her story, I’m sure she must have gone through so much in life to finally be the women she has always known herself to be.  I could not imagine to have gone through all those hurdles and be denied an equal opportunity to participate in her dream competition.

One can only hope that this will open people’s eyes to these issues.

Katie

About katieinthehall

I'm a rediscovered crossdresser in my early 30's looking to express my thoughts as I move through this journey of discovery.

Posted on March 24, 2012, in News and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

