Spring Weather

Spring is finally here.  I was just thinking about the different seasons and the unique things that make each one special and unique.  As someone who likes to go out for walks in the park with a camera, I’ve really taken notice of the differences I see in a different way than I did before getting into photography.

Spring to me is a time when the birds nest in the tree outside our bedroom and wake us up early in the morning.  Spring is a time when nature come back to a bright life.  The trees are blooming, the flowers are colorful, and the weather is warm.  And there are storms!  In the Memphis area, spring time is an amazing time to capture the power of wind, rain, and lightning.

As a kid I’ve always been intrigued by storms.  The flashes of light, the wind in the trees, and the pouring down of rain.  I would often pull up a chair to a window, open up the blinds, and watch the storm roll by with amazement.  Now that I live here, spring time is my favorite time to capture weather at its most intense.

One such event occurred in the spring of 2009, when a storm rolled through a few hours before sunset.  At the time this was devastating, because this was the night that my Pittsburgh Penguins won game 7 of the Stanley Cup, and I missed it because the power was knocked out by the storm.  After the storm passed, the clouds began to thin out at the same time the sun was getting ready to set.  It was one of the most spectacular scenes I’ve witnessed.  The sky was bright orange, as if it were set on fire.  These are a couple of pictures I captured on that day.  Enjoy!

Katie

About katieinthehall

I'm a rediscovered crossdresser in my early 30's looking to express my thoughts as I move through this journey of discovery.

Posted on March 23, 2012, in Photography and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Beautiful pictures. BTW that was a great game that you missed. The Blackhawks have been my team since I was little, but I rooted for the Pens in the finals that year.

  2. Thanks Becky. Shortly after the game, I found out that you could download the games through iTunes. I did miss a great game, but the amazing scene outside is something I may never witness again. In the end I was happy that I got to see the sunset in fire and know that my pens won 🙂

Leave a Reply

