Self Portrait

One of the areas of photography I wish I could improve upon is portraits.  I have know some good photographers who could capture the human emotions in a single picture, which would make you really evaluate the subject.  I find it an amazing skill to be able to capture such emotions, it’s a gift some have, and I hope to improve my skills to be able to do so.

I’ve been able to take some self portraits that really encapsulate the emotions I’ve experienced.  This picture may make the observer wonder what’s behind those eyes.  I often wonder, when I’m with friends or co-workers that don’t know me really deep down, if they could ever really understand me.  So often people take me for granted, they think they have me figured out in the first minute they meet me.  I’m shy, reserved, quiet, and polite.  They have no clue what lies beneath.  This is what this picture means to me.  There are so many emotions and feelings that lie behind those eyes that only a select few could ever understand.  The more important thing is that they are my feelings, and I own them.  They are the real me, to be used to further understand who I am.

About katieinthehall

I'm a rediscovered crossdresser in my early 30's looking to express my thoughts as I move through this journey of discovery.

Posted on March 17, 2012, in Be Yourself, Photography and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

