Spring’s in the air…early

The trees are blooming, the birds are chirping, and it’s almost time to get the AC fired up in the Memphis area.  This winter really hasn’t been a winter at all.  In a non-gender related topic, this means that we haven’t been able to brew up some of the beer styles we like (it hasn’t gotten cold enough in our fermenting closet).  I say we, because K has really gotten into home brewing, she’s a big help on brew day.  Today, we’ll be cooking up a Kolsch beer kit, making 5 gallons of light, refreshing beer that will be perfect when the Memphis summer arrives with 95 °F + temps and high humidity.  The next beer on the menu to make will be a wheat beer made with blood oranges, which was great to have last year when we were outside in the shade and sweating uncontrollably.

The changing seasons also reminds me that I don’t have much time left with Katie.  I mean that when it’s nearly 100 °F outside almost all summer long, and the AC struggles to get to 80 °F in our apartment, getting dressed up isn’t so much fun.  I tried last summer to get dressed up, but with all the makeup, wig, layers of clothes and tights (to cover all the hair), I just about pass out.  I just have to enjoy the time I have left until fall comes around, and take advantage of any cool summer weekends.  I’m thinking that I want do something special for Halloween.  I’ve heard that Halloween is basically national crossdressing day, where it’s totally accepted for a guy to get dressed up in drag.  I think I might even know what costume I might want to try, but that’s a ways of.  Just have to make it through the tough Memphis summer.

Enjoy your weekend; I know I will with a pint of ale.

Katie

About katieinthehall

I'm a rediscovered crossdresser in my early 30's looking to express my thoughts as I move through this journey of discovery.

Posted on March 3, 2012, in crossdressing, Home Brewing and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

