Looking Way Ahead

Since discovering Katie and letting her evolve, I’ve spent everyday having some thoughts about her.  Weather it be trivial things, like what kind of makeup look I want to try this weekend, to the deeper thoughts, like where am I going, who am I?

I’ve talked previously about some short-term goals I have for myself, but I’ve also spent a lot of time thinking about the long road ahead.  My wife, K, and I are known to be planners and organizers.  In fact, we have family and friends who joke about how we have things so organized.  K has all her things in folders, and binders, all color-coded.  I have spreadsheets with finances, and rough plans for our future.  It was only in my nature to ask myself, what do we do about Katie when we decide to have kids? K still has a year or two before finishing her degree, and then we’d like to save for a house, and start plans for a family.  We really haven’t talked at all about where Katie will fit in.

I know that this is something what will happen in the future, but the years can go by quickly.  I also know that in the end, whatever happens, we’ll make the right choice for our family and our relationship.  Over this past year, I know that Katie has become a deep part of who I am, and that person will never disappear, even for the sake of starting a family.  I know that suppressing a part of yourself is not healthy for anyone.

I am going to be very interested in reading books, and doing research on other crossdressers who have had to deal with this issue, at least to give me insight on what we can do.  I know there are some people who will hide this fact from their kids for as long as possible, and others who will be very open.  There are challenges in either case, and we’ll have to find the right model that will work with us.

These are just some of the thoughts I have on a daily basis.

Katie

About katieinthehall

I'm a rediscovered crossdresser in my early 30's looking to express my thoughts as I move through this journey of discovery.

Posted on February 15, 2012, in Family/Friends and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. I am currently exploring how Anna fits into family life as our first child is due any day now. I have started reading some books, blogs and forums hoping to gleam some insight into my own heart and future. All I know for now is that Anna is trying to make a place in this life and I get the impression I should start listening to myself on occasion.

  2. Katie,
    I raised 8 kids who never had a clue about me. Now that they are finding out, it is creating terrible problems for them. I know another trans woman who openly expressed her femininity throughout her life including in front of the kids. She originally had no intention of transitioning, but when she did, there were fewer problems for the kids. Yes that got some grief at school, but they handled it better because as far as they knew this was normal.
    Kids will learn that what they experience in an open, positive environment is normal. If you allow them to experience Katie from the beginning they will be used to her long before they even begin to interact with others outside your home. They may even wonder why their friends dads don’t wear dresses. 🙂 Be open and honest with your children and they will grow up to be open and honest people.

  3. Anna,
    I wish you the best in the upcoming days as you prepare to welcome your child into the world. It’ll be interesting to read you blog in the future to see how you choose to incorporate Anna into your family.

    Becky,
    Thank you for those thoughts. It means a lot comming from an experienced father and mother. I know, having been married to K for 6 years, being open and honest has always been the best for the two of us. We’re very open-minded people and I know our children will be as well. Having Katie around will make for a very interesting family. It’ll challenge the kids, but that will probably only make them stronger in character.

    Katie

Leave a Reply

