Wig Review

I had a chance to dress up today and I thought I would write a little on wigs.  I’ve bought several wigs over the past year, starting with a few wigs I got from ebay in the range of $20-40 each.  These wigs were a good start for me to figure out which styles I liked best, along with which colors looked good with my features. Over the last year I’ve learned so much about how wigs are constructed and the different options you can get.  I never thought a few years ago that I would know this much about wigs.

These wigs were great to play around with, but if you wore them for an extended period of time, you could really notice how thick, heavy, and itchy they could get.  Last summer I started doing some research into wigs towards a purchase of a higher quality wig.  I ended up buying this Jon Renau Zara wig in a 130/4 color, has been my best purchase so far.  It’s a lot lighter than my other wigs, and I can wear it all day long without even noticing I have it on.  One of the best features of the Zara wig is the SmartLace, which gives the look a natural hair line, without the need for tape.  Here’s a more detailed look from YouTube.

Katie

About katieinthehall

I'm a rediscovered crossdresser in my early 30's looking to express my thoughts as I move through this journey of discovery.

Posted on February 12, 2012, in Dress up day, Reviews and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. That looks really god on you. I have only been able to buy one wig at this point and since money is currently tight, it is noticeably cheap. You can really tell the difference. Thanks for the insight.

  2. Thanks Becky. I noticed very quickly this new part of my life wouldn’t be cheap. A new wardrobe, makeup, wigs, ect. I’m interested in buying a pair of breast forms, which can be very expensive. Just have to keep working and saving. For now, a pair of stockings full of rice does the job.

  3. I’ve also been slowly realizing if I want to do this right, I need to spend the money. So much wasted money on ill fitting clothes, cheap makeup, shoes, and especially wigs. I don’t think there is any other aspect in my life that rings the saying “you get what you pay for” truer.

    • Oh yes, I have done plenty of that, spending money when I shouldn’t have. But at least I’ve learned a lot from it. You soon realize what clothes best works on you, you practice with the cheap makeup before spending the money on the expensive stuff, and you get to figure out what’s the best hair style on you. But as we progress and get more serious, the more we’ll have to invest on the good stuff.

Leave a Reply

