Super Bowl Weekend

So I didn’t have much time this weekend to get dolled up as Katie because I had to take care of another hobby that I have.  We had to bottle 5 gallons of home brewed beer.  As the name of my blog suggests, I may post random thoughts from time to time that doesn’t involve crossdressing.  The beer that was bottled today is a Scottish ale that will be ready to taste in two weeks after it carbonates. 

As a scientist I think it was inevitable that I would get into making my own beer, especially since K and I are all about craft beer.  I’ve always wanted to know how beer was made, the differences between each style, and the chemistry that happens when brewing.  A year and a half ago, K and I bought a starter kit with all the necessary equipment to get started and we’ve been brewing ever since (making one or two 5 gallon batches a month).  We take brakes during the summer when it gets unbelievably hot, and our apartment air conditioner works overtime.  Most beer styles don’t ferment well at higher temperatures.

Anytime we get invited to a friend’s house, we never have to think about what to bring.  Our friends always ask if we’re brining some new beers they haven’t tried yet.  It’s definitely a conversation starter, and it makes everyone happy, as long as it doesn’t run out.

Anyways, we’ll be enjoying some home brews for the big game this evening.  Have a great Sunday,

Katie

About katieinthehall

I'm a rediscovered crossdresser in my early 30's looking to express my thoughts as I move through this journey of discovery.

Posted on February 5, 2012, in Drinks/Food and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

