Coming out to friends

What is it about human nature that pushes someone to reveal something personal to a close friend?  Is it to explain your behavior to someone? To relieve the stress of holding something personal inside?  Sometimes telling someone that you are quite different can be a dangerous thing, since you might not know how they will accept the news.  Will they be open to your feelings?  Will they be scared, or disgusted?  It can be a risky move.  Over the last few months, my feelings about my feminine side couldn’t be kept secret anymore.  I wanted to let other people know that Katie existed.  Is it selfish? Is it too much of a burden to put on a friend? All I can say is that I’ve received amazing support from the few close friends I’ve opened up to.  A close friend should be there to listen to your thoughts and provide support when you need it.  Even though these friends are open minded, I was still very nervous in telling them about my deepest feelings.  I think I can honestly say that those friendships have grown stronger as a result of opening up to them.  Thank you friends.

Anyways, have a happy Friday, enjoy an adult beverage responsibly, and have a great weekend.

Katie

About katieinthehall

I'm a rediscovered crossdresser in my early 30's looking to express my thoughts as I move through this journey of discovery.

Posted on January 20, 2012, in Family/Friends and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

